In the spirit of Easter…

Not all my blogs are going to contain deep metaphors. Just so you know.

One thing you might like to know about me:  I’m an avid advocate for immigrants and immigration. It stems largely from the same place my mission-mindedness came from–a love for foreign things that morphed into a love for foreign PEOPLE. It’s a group of people that I really have a heart for. I’m an intern at The Coalition for New South Carolinians, a small non-profit that advocates for immigrant and refugees.

Today I went to speak to Senator Lindsay Graham’s advisor person (honestly don’t remember her title) about the faith side of immigration and what the Bible has to say about the treatment of the immigrant. (On a side note, if you’re interested, here a few verses you should read:  Leviticus 19:33-34, Proverbs 31:8-9, Exodus 22:21) Anyway I went with Emily Stanek, the Program Coordinator at the Coalition, an Episocalian priest, and two Methodist ministers.

I had a moment during the meeting when I realized how lucky I was to be in the room with such godly, accomplished men who are fighting for the same cause I am. What in the world did I do to even deserve an invitation to this meeting, much less make an equal contribution? I just feel like God is confirming my calling to this ministry. And maybe He’s preparing me for something big. It’s just a feeling I have. An “internal knowing” as Oprah would put it. (*snort*)

I don’t want this blog to step on toes by talking about politics or inciting debates. I bring this up because , strangely, this has so much to do with my trip to Peru. It’s about loving people at their core, and seeing people through God’s eyes. When God looks at a person, he doesn’t see their documentation status or their nationality or their native language. He sees a beautiful creation. It takes work to love the downtrodden and the outcast, but it’s what I want to do. Pray that God will remind me of the value of each human life He puts in my path from now through Peru. Each one I encounter is a chance to love and serve and practice God’s amazing compassion and that’s an opportunity I don’t want to pass up!

2 thoughts on “In the spirit of Easter…

  1. Yeah!! I’m so proud of you! You did an awesome job at that meeting.

    I’m so glad you started this blog! I’m required to do a blog for my time in Mexico, and I’ll definitely send you the link when I have it.

    Like

Leave a Reply

