¿Dónde está el baño?

So with my trip two and a half weeks away, I’m in Spanish boot camp. I’ve had Spanish classes both semesters this year, but my vocabulary will extend beyond business and literature this summer. You don’t exactly learn words like salvation, mercy, and sanctification  in university Spanish classes.

On Monday I got some exciting news about my trip. Here’s my itinerary:

June 1: Arrive in Lima (pm)

June 2: Orientation in Lima

June 3 – 7: Training in Canta, Peru

June 8: Depart for Huaraz, Peru

July 4 – 5: Return to Lima

July 6 – 13: Shevoja, Peru (jungle)

July 14:  Day in Lima, Return to USA

So… Huaraz, or rather, a small town outside of Huaraz, shall be my home for a month!  So my first thought upon receiving this info was this:  Where in the world is Huaraz? Let me show you:

Peru_tourist_attractions_map

This is something different for me. Last year I flew into Lima, drove south to Nasca, and then east into the mountain range (the brown zone). I’ll still be in the mountains. Actually, Huaraz is right next to Peru’s largest mountain, Huascarán:

huascaran_mountain

I am SO excited about Huaraz, about Canta, about Shevoja. Start praying with me about the people I’ll encounter, that they’ll be receptive of us and our message. And start praying for me, not that my Spanish will be perfect or that I won’t mess up. Just pray that I’ll acurately be able to convey God’s love, even without words.

That’s all for now. 🙂

One thought on “¿Dónde está el baño?

  1. You have heard the statement, “God doesn’t always call the equipped, He equips the called.” In your case He has done both. The most important thing that you have been given is a compassionate heart and a passion for sharing the love of Jesus. He has and will continue to enable you in all things, in ways that you have not yet imagined. You WILL be covered with prayer.

    Like

Leave a Reply

