The end of our prologue.

The countdown is on. Mere days until I get on a plane for Lima. I’m nervous and ecstatic and anxious and excited all at the same time. All the nerves and excitement form a rubber band ball that’s constantly bouncing around in my stomach. But things are coming together–things like vaccinations and plane tickets and money. Life is great and God is greater still.  

Today I read Ezekiel 33. (I should say I read Ezequiel 33 because I read it in Spanish. Practice, practice, practice.) Ezekiel was appointed as a watchman to the people of Israel and it was his responsibility to warn the people of their sin and beg them to turn toward righteousness. This responsibility was massive because if these people died unaware of their sin, God would hold Ezekiel responsible for their lives. I’m not going to Peru as a tourist. I’m going to as a messenger of God’s love and I needed to be reminded of the profundity of this trip. I’m determined to shake off the lackadaisical approach to evangelism that I so often have in my every day life.

Pray for me. Pray for my team:  Ryann, Jillian, Kerri, Julia, and Blake. And most of all, pray for Peru. My prayer is that God would do big things in Peru, and if that requires me to be a little scared, a little uncomfortable, a little inconvenienced, then that’s fine. This is a once in a lifetime opportunity.

As I wrote in my last blog, for a large part of the trip, I’ll be in a town outside of the mountain city of Huaraz. It’s likely that I’ll be able to find an internet cafe once a week to be able to update this weblog of mine, but don’t count on a well-written masterpiece. I’ll save my favorite parts for my journal, which I promise to share when I get back. If you can’t wait that long, check out the note I wrote after last year’s trip: http://www.facebook.com/home.php#/note.php?note_id=23091751801  Anyway, I’d love to hear from you while I’m there. Leave me a message on here or on my facebook. It’ll probably help with the homesickness. 🙂

A lot of things will happen while I’m gone: I won’t be around to hug my dad on father’s day. I’ll miss many of my friends’ high school graduations. I’ll turn twenty (along with a bajillion other family birthdays and anniversaries). Peruvians don’t really care about the fourth of July. Josh Groban releases two DVDs. And most importantly, the next Harry Potter film comes out. (Okay, now I feel like a nerd.) Anyway, I’ll have a lot to catch up on when I get back, and I’m beginning to miss you all already and I haven’t even left yet. While I’m gone I hope your lives are wonderful, that God works in you as He’s sure to be working in me. And if you think of me, think of the God who sends me. Think of His sacrifice and think of His love, for those are the reasons I’m leaving and the reasons I’m living. Love to you all.

A picture I took in Pullo, Peru.

A picture I took last year in Pullo, Peru. This is the hill that overlooks Pullo.

I took this in Chumpi. Tengo vida = I'm alive.

I took this in Chumpi. Tengo vida = I'm alive.

  

One thought on “The end of our prologue.

  1. KELSEY!!
    I’m so excited. You’re leaving so soon. Did you go ‘supply’ shopping? 😉 I’m praying for your travels and excited about every adventure you’ll have along the way. Take a bajillion pictures for me. And maybe some video??
    Love you,
    Julie

    Like

Leave a Reply

