Don’t Cry for Me…

I found out officially on Saturday that I’ll be moving to Buenos Aires, Argentina for 2 to 3 years.  I’ll be going as a Journeyman through the International Mission Board and my primary job will be doing demographic research in the city. I’ll go to eight weeks of training in Virginia at the end of January, then peace out around early April. I’ve lived enough and tried to capture time enough to know it’ll be here before I know it.

Now more than ever, God’s faithfulness is coming even clearer into focus. I’m starting to look back and realize those seemingly random occurrences and interests and events have all led me to this. Never did I ever expect to use my economics degree, much less in a ministry job. When I gobbled up any foreign language available to me in high school, never did I predict it would take me to places that would fill my American-bred eyes with poverty and break my American-bred heart for the lost. Never did I think that these last few months of stressing would make this decision so staunchly peaceful and clear. It’s as if this job had my name written on it before I knew it even existed.

God isn’t wasteful with the lessons he teaches and the talents he gives us. All pain has a purpose. Every trial is another jagged puzzle piece that has a perfect place in life’s hindsight. What a merciful and constant God we serve, that he completes the good works he begins in us, cutting and stitching with careful, gentle precision.

For we are his workmanship, created in Christ Jesus for good works, which God prepared beforehand, that we should walk in them. Ephesians 2:10

I gave myself up to this masterful remodelling a while ago and it has been worth all of it, all the jagged edges, all the precise cuts and stitches. He prepared me for good works and he also prepared those works for me. As Solomon wisely wrote:

For everything there is a season, and a time for every matter under heaven:
a time to be born, and a time to die; a time to plant, and a time to pluck up what is planted; a time to kill, and a time to heal; a time to break down, and a time to build up; a time to weep, and a time to laugh; a time to mourn, and a time to dance.  Ecclesiastes 3:1-4

Now is a time to dance and rejoice! God is faithful! So here I go:

YAY! I’M GOING TO ARGENTINA!

2 thoughts on “Don’t Cry for Me…

Leave a Reply

