An Update from Boot Camp

A month ago I wrote about my fitness DVD escapades. I just tried a little here, a little there for a week at a time since that was all the library would allow me. It was fun and I did realize I can stay in shape beyond running. But I’ve decided to GO DEEPER.

I’ve never really enjoyed watching The Biggest Loser. When I was bigger, it made me feel a little guilty to watch, knowing these folks were being braver than I was, living out their transformation for the world to see. But even since I’ve had my own transformation, the show still makes me a little uncomfortable.

Why, you ask?

Mostly because Jillian Michaels scares the crap out of me.

So call me masochistic, but when I saw Jillian Michaels’ Six Week Six Pack program on sale at Sam’s Club, I felt like the intimidation factor might be a good motivator. The purchase miiight have been further propelled by the fact that I was buying junk food IN BULK and felt I had to punish myself just a little. There was that too.

She's going to scare the fat right off of you.

So after letting the DVD collect dust for a couple of weeks, I finally worked up the courage to put it in the player and give it a try. There are two levels and I’m supposed to try each level for three weeks and each level has beginner and advanced exercises. It’s like Cardio + Pilates in one—so it burns fat while building muscle at the same time.

Added bonus:  It also makes you want to kill yourself!

I’m one week into the program and feeling so incredibly sore, but that means it’s working, right? I’m not sure if this body of mine is even capable of achieving a six pack, but we shall see. Right now, I’m currently rocking the one pack, but—according to my calculations—after one week of the program, that puts me right on schedule. (I don’t know–check my math on that one.)

In one week I’ll be heading to my two months of training in Virginia and I’ll be bringing Jillian and my yoga mat with me. We’ll see how this goes! If I’m honest, I think female six packs are a little bit . . . terrifying.  But at the very least, I’ll be arriving in Argentina the strongest I possibly can. That’s a good goal, yes?

2 thoughts on “An Update from Boot Camp

  1. Great titles to your posts…

    I came to your blog from Jon Acuff’s site. He has created a tremendous forum for sharing our blogs and impacting more people with them.

    I hope my blog can be an encouragement to you also.

    I write it for encouragement and motivation daily.

    http://i-never-fail.blogspot.com

    Thanks for sharing. Looking forward to watching the connections grow!

    Like

Leave a Reply

