The End (but not really)

Well every now and then life decides to sneak up on you and yell “BOO.” Or something to that effect. And whatever the cause, it doesn’t ever wait for you to be ready for it. 

 
On Saturday I stepped off of an airplane into the United States. My time in Argentina has ended about 5 months earlier than expected. 
 
I know. Crazy. And believe me–no matter how surprised you are by this news, I am surprised more. 
 
I won’t go into all the details for everyone on the interwebs, but I will say that yes, it was my decision, and no, it wasn’t an easy one. In fact, it has been the hardest choice I’ve ever made, but I’m confident it was the right decision. I will also say that I’m sad about it. I love that country. 
 
Some people, myself included, have the tendency to get all sugary in tough times of transition like this and use big phrases like “God’s will” and “his perfect timing.” And sometimes I wonder if we really believe that or if in our heartache it’s the medicine we prescribe ourselves to make us feel better.
 
I don’t know what God’s will was for this. I don’t know if this unexpected ending was God’s protection or his punishment, his refining or his redirection. Or if maybe I’m just reading too much into this and the point is that I just serve him best where ever I am. Whatever it is, I figure I’ll probably understand better in hindsight and so I’m just trying my hardest now to trust that he’s still good. And I can’t deny that he IS good. And I have so much to be thankful for. 
 
I finished up the research project that I went to Buenos Aires to do. Between Stacey and I, we completed 6,229 surveys in all 48 neighborhoods and 15 comunas in the the city. It truly was amazing that I was able to participate. So  often we think of missions as sowing seeds and reaping a harvest. But the research was more like tilling the soil and looking for the fertile land. 
 
There is so so much I have learned from my year and a half as a journeyman. Over the next few weeks I will share those lessons on this blog, including the direction I’m looking toward next. I’m also looking forward to sharing all the oddities  and blunders I make as I readjust to life in the land of freedom and Crocs and automatic flushing toilets. I’ve already tried to kiss a few people on the face, so stay tuned–it’s getting good.
 
4 thoughts on “The End (but not really)

  1. I think you hit the nail on the head – we try to over spiritualize things sometimes when all we need to focus on is serving God where we are. And you seem to adjust and do that well! Regardless of His reasons, I believe He always has you right where He wants you 🙂

    Like

  2. Praying for you Kels. I have had my share of struggles this past year and have come to know that God’s will is for us to love Him and the people around us despite what circumstances we find ourselves in. You have done that in a mighty way by sowing seeds in Argentina. Along the way as we grow stronger in our faith there is a little alarm that goes off in hell that makes satan pay attention to us and send his minions. I was not sure of this until I experienced it myself. The closer and more effective we are for God the larger the target appears on our back. God equips us to defend ourselves in His power and we do grow from the experience. It just sucks when we have to go thru it however. Take some time to reflect and look at all the good that came from your time there. Love you bunches

    Like

  3. Kelsey, I am your mom’s friend from school! I am so proud of you for what you have done…..making a difference. God is smiling on you! He knows where you will go next. My prayers are with you as you continue His journey.
    Karen Thompson

    Like

  4. Thank you for following God’s call for the time He had you there. Looking forward to your next chapter as He leads you!

    Like

Leave a Reply

