Mediums: an intro

So I’m smack dab in the middle of a seven day detox because America is delicious. Too delicious.
And as I have recently discussed the highs and lows of dieting with various other health conscious friends, I have noticed a very important factor that applies to physical health, spiritual health, and well… all of life in general.
The danger of compartmentalization.

I have this tendency to say things like: It’s my heart that matters to God. It’s what’s on the inside that counts. And then I use that as an excuse to be a big, fat, lazy blob.

And while I hate hate hate the slippery slope argument as much as the next guy, this slope actually is a really slippery one.

“God cares about my heart” is true. “God doesn’t care about my body” is false.
“It’s the thought that counts” is true. “My actions don’t matter” is false.

We can’t compartmentalize spiritual from physical or intention from action and expect to please God or grow or achieve.

My small group has spent the past few weeks studying creation and the fall of man and I have been reminded of the simple fact that when God created the world and put our souls into being, he placed us in two mediums: space and time. You and I exist here and now.
Here: in our bodies, on this big, round, spinny planet.
Now: In a constant string of todays that will never quite become tomorrows.

Yes, sin is a matter of the heart, but it was a physical act of apple-eating that caused the heart problem. Yes, it is what is inside that counts, but it is from the overflow of the heart that the mouth speaks. Our hearts, bodies and minds are linked and we cannot unlink them.

Every action has an intention behind it and an intention without an accompanying action is meaningless.
What does this suggest?
It suggests that the mediums God made us in matter. God cares about our bodies. He cares about our actions. He cares about how we spend our todays.

Over the next few weeks, I’m going to dive deeper into the implications of this here on the blog. I hope you stick around for it!

Leave a Reply

